It’s the end of the trail, folks…

I realize I’ve threatened to do this before. Twice in fact, in late 2014 and in late 2016. This time I mean it, though.

The River City Renegade is riding off into the sunset.

I began this blog for my own amusement, to keep myself in writing trim and I thought it would be a fun gig. It has been. I’m a goof-off with time on my hands and chains to yank and I don’t take myself seriously. Hopefully most of the more than 30,000 visitors to this blog didn’t either.

For those of you who did get your knickers in a tangle over something I scribbled about the Winnipeg Jets or Blue Bombers, I can recommend a good therapist.

So adios, good people.

Kindness and love to you all.

Patti Dawn Swansson has been scribbling mostly about Winnipeg sports for 47 years, which means it’s time to go for a pint.

18 thoughts on “It’s the end of the trail, folks…”

  1. I really enjoyed your blog over the years. Stopped reading the local rags years ago when your column came along. Great insight on Winnipeg sports! Always made me laugh (especially the digs at Steve Simmons and the republic of Trana and of course our beloved Jets…..I agree with pretty much everything you said on them over the years). Anyway I just wanted you to know that I really respected how you stood up for what you believed in and always looked forward to your scribblings. I’m going to miss them!

    Like

  2. I will miss you Patti Dawn – after thoroughly enjoying my brief subscription spent with The River City Renegade – looking forward to, receiving and digesting each well-written, informative, amusing – sometimes caustic – surely always true – wonderful commentary! You are a one and only! Good Luck and Good Health!
    Now I’m left to and dependent once again on ‘Primetime Sports with Bob McCown’

    Like

  3. The best players scored 50 goals your own 3 away .hey would you write a book on my travels and stories that will take 3 years

    Like

    1. I scored 53 goals in 12 games as a 10-year-old. First kid to ever score 50 in Little NHL at Melrose Park CC. Won the scoring championship. So I’ve been there and done that.

      Like

  4. OMG……..PDS… Happy Trails!!   Sure gonna miss you. Enjoy whatever the future brings.  Sent from my BlackBerry – the most secure mobile device From: comment-reply@wordpress.comSent: September 22, 2017 4:39 AMTo: wknutson@mymts.netReply-to: comment+2i1efidia1jqylf-wfmobus@comment.wordpress.comSubject: [New post] It’s the end of the trail, folks… #ssc17454 a:hover{color: red;}#ssc17454 a{text-decoration: none;color: rgb(0, 136, 204);}#ssc17454 a.primaryactionlink:link,#ssc17454 a.primaryactionlink:visited{background-color: rgb(37, 133, 178);color: rgb(255, 255, 255);}#ssc17454 a.primaryactionlink:hover,#ssc17454 a.primaryactionlink:active{background-color: rgb(17, 114, 158);color: rgb(255, 255, 255);}

    pattidawnswansson posted: “I realize I’ve threatened to do this before. Twice in fact, in late 2014 and in late 2016. This time I mean it, though.

    The River City Renegade is riding off into the sunset.

    I began this blog for my own amusement, to keep myself in writing trim and”

    Like

Comments are closed.